Desert Rain Maxi Dress Product Reviews

Average Customer Review: 4.72 out of 5 (36 Reviews)

Click here to write an review and share your thoughts with others.

Reviewer: Phyllis Davis (Fort Valley, Georgia) 7/29/2014

Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5


Desert Rain Dress
I loved my dress. However, I had to get it altered, because it was really long. Everything else was right on point. The dress was so comfortable as well.

Reviewer: Jonvive S Anguiano (Northridge, CA) 4/8/2014

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


AMAZING!!!
It's been about 14 years since I have worn a dress. I saw this dress on the Lane Bryant website, but I was pleased to find a KIYONNA store in Anaheim. This dress is great for any size; I ordered a 3x and I normally wear size 22. If you get some spanx and wear it with this dress it will smooth out your extra lovin!! I needed this dress the day of my Aunt's retirement party and I felt and looked fabulous!!! It is long in length so be sure to wear some sexy heels!

Reviewer: Joanna (, NY) 4/8/2014

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Great Length and Fit for Tall Ladies!
I was looking for a dress for my mother-in-law's funeral. I originally found this dress on LaneBryant.com, but needed this dress within 2 days; however, their site didn't offer shipping any faster than 4-8 business days. My husband suggested that I google this dress, which I did, and I landed on Kiyonna's website. I located the dress and was extremely excited to see the different shipping options. I NEVER buy anything online, ESPECIALLY a dress without trying it on first. However, I was pleased with the feedback I read in the reviews and decided to order the dress, as I felt this was my only option. I had tried on other maxi's at stores in my area, but they were all WAY too short and didn't have sleeves. I ordered the dress and paid the $45 dollars to have it delivered via next day air by noon. I placed the order at 3pm on Monday and it arrived to my home at 9:30 am the next day! I ordered the black, in a size 3x. I am 6ft tall and typically wear a 22/24. I knew as soon as I opened the box that it was long enough! This dress is simply amazing; it's very true to size and has a BEAUTIFUL length and feel. I cannot express how grateful I am to have found this dress and have it delivered on time for the funeral service. Thank you, Kiyonna! This was my first purchase and will NOT be my last!

Reviewer: Justica Turner (Dallas, Texas) 3/4/2014

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


My Favorite Dress
I have this dress in several colors and I love to wear in the Spring and Summer. I recommend this style to everyone.

Reviewer: Robin Kassner (New York, NY) 12/21/2013

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


I love the Desert Rain Maxi!
I love this dress so much that I bought it in black, teal and purple! I would buy more of them if they came in more colors I like, such as hot pink, a pink floral print, black lace, gold lamé, gunmetal metalic or bright turquoise. This dress and the Tiers of Joy dress are my go-to dresses for events where I want to look glam. The v-neck is very flattering and enhances the bust-line. THis Maxi also has a-line shaped and goes in at the tummy so it creates a really great shape. It's pretty long, but I usually wear it with Louboutins, so that's ok. Overall, this is a great dress! Please make it in more colors so I can buy more of them!

Reviewer: goingloopy (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma) 10/11/2013

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Cute AND comfy.
This dress is incredibly flattering (especially the raspberry wine color, I don't think it's possible for anyone to look bad in it), so soft without being overly clingy and it's like being able to get away with wearing pajamas in public. I'm 5'9", 4x, not very busty and the length is great. My only beef is that the neckline slips a little, but I have this problem with almost everything. I would love to see this in a deep teal or a subtle print with a contrasting waistband.

Reviewer: Claudia B. (El Paso, TX) 10/4/2013

Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Too Informal To Wear To A Wedding
I am 5'7 (225 lbs.) and wear a size 1X-2X, depending on the manufacturer. I actually just purchased this dress for my brother's wedding and I am not pleased with it, but it is too late to order something else, as the wedding is in a few days. It was my first time ordering from Kiyonna and even though I am shaped like the model, the sizing runs BIG!!! I bought this in a 2X and I could have ordered the 1X; this dress is generously cut and might have needed some altering. The dress is of very informal cotton knit material and in my rush to buy something, I didn't realize this. I would have liked this dress so much more if it had been in a poly-blend material - to make it look dressier. I would not recommend this dress to anyone planning to attend a semi-formal to formal wedding event. The bust area is exceedingly generous and even though I am a 38 DD, it is falling off my chest. I am lucky that I am a crafty girl with super-seamstress skills with a sewing machine or else I'd be even unhappier.

Reviewer: Drusilla (Manchester, CT) 8/5/2013

Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5


Well, Almost.
First of all, I'm 5'10" and this dress was just about long enough for me. I couldn't have made it work with heels, but a pair of cute flats and I would have been good to go. Finding maxi dresses that are actually a maxi length is a near-impossible challenge for me. Unfortunately, I'm also a G cup. There was absolutely no way that I could go out in public wearing this dress as the wrap neckline was WAY too low. Overall, I think this is a cute dress and that it is well made, which is to be expected of Kiyonna. This dress will probably work best for someone who is an inch or two shorter and a bit less well endowed than I am.

Reviewer: Andrea (The Dalles, OR) 7/15/2013

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Exceeded Expectations
I have purchased this dress for my son's wedding. It arrived today and I couldn't wait to try it on. It fits perfectly and feels great. I'm able to move, sit, stand comfortably and am incredibly pleased with the quality. You've gained a new customer. Thank you!!

Reviewer: Scheri Manson (Edmonton, Alberta) 6/4/2013

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Beautiful Raspberry Wine
I will start with my measurements. Full Bust - 44DD Waist - 38* Hips - 44" Height 5'7.5" I ordered a 0X as per the chart on the website. Fit: The sleeve length is just past my elbows. The twist at the high waist is very flattering. The ruching under the high waist actually hits right on the abdomen. I would suggest getting a shaper garment to smooth things out. This dress is long. I am 5'7.5" and it was long with stilettos on. If you plan on wearing this maxi with a flat shoe, you will need to have it hemmed. Color: Rich Burgundy/Red Fabric - Rayon & Spandex. Soft & Supple Another purchase of another quality garment from Kiyonna.

Reviewer: MDH3 (Woodbridge, Virginia) 3/15/2013

Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5


Very flattering!
I receive compliments every single time I wear this dress. It's extremely flattering and fits well. I purchased it knowing it was low cut and simply had a panel put across the front for modesty's sake because I am uncomfortable bearing my cleavage. Otherwise, a great dress.

Reviewer: Mina (Springfield, OR) 12/12/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Classy, Comfortable and Versatile
By far the most versatile Kiyonna dress I have ever bought! I am wearing this to my company Christmas party with heels. This spring I will also wear to a fundraiser dinner and then a wedding in the summer. If you're between sizes, order down. I wear a 14 and am pleased with the fit of the OX. The fabric is very forgiving and thick. Flowy enough to camouflage flaws. The cut is so flattering, down to the detail on the front of the dress and the ruching on the arms.

Reviewer: Riccarda (GRAIN VALLEY, MO) 12/10/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


FLATTERING!
I bought this to wear for a weekend of performing in our church Christmas concerts. I'm 5'4 1/2 barefooted, full busted at 46DD, size 26/28 on bottoms, and ranging in between hourglass to oval shaped. I ordered a 3x and it fit perfectly, not too loose, not too tight. Fitted throughout the sleeves & bust, skimmed hips and straight to the floor. I chose to wear flats since we were standing a lot; this pooled lovely at my feet without being too long that I tripped or had to hike it up. It hid the areas I wanted hidden and is simply elegant. I received sooo many compliments and numerous people asked where I got it at. It is very understated, but classy. You get noticed without trying :) This was my first purchase from Kiyonna and although it was expensive, the quality of the piece was worth the price and I will make future purchases.

Reviewer: Melissa Bee (Hoosier Country, ) 10/1/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Sexy AND Flattering!
Bought this dress and wore it to a wedding last weekend. I was comfortable and felt amazing in the dress. It accentuated the upper body in a flattering way while not clinging to flawed areas I didn't want to be accentuated. I did initially buy a 4X, but when I tried it on it was not fitted or flattering at all. I opted for an exchange for a 3X and couldn't be happier with how it looked. Kudos to Kiyonna for making sexy and flattering clothing with thoughtful designs for voluptuous ladies!

Reviewer: Sanriobaby (Central Suburban NJ, NJ) 9/28/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


A long standing staple in my closet!
This dress met all of my expectations and then some. I loved the purple dress I chose; it was the exact shade that I expected and the fit was perfect. I'm extremely curvy, an hourglass shape, and most dresses don't accommodate my super large chest, but this one did and other than having to put a bit of double sided tape for modesty purposes, the bust seams fit exactly where they were supposed to be. I love the comfort of this fabric too; it wasn't too heavy and I didn't find it too thin. The 3/4 sleeves were the perfect length and didn't fit tight around my arms either. The small front pleating skims your tummy nicely so those who are a bit body conscious in the middle will be quite happy with the fit. The length of this dress was too long for me, but I expected that since I'm a short gal but tall girls would have no issues. Surprisingly, I initially purchased this dress for my baby shower. I was well into my second trimester and the front pleating really flattered my growing belly beautifully without me feeling like a Thanksgiving float. I ordered the dress in a size 2x, (I was an 18/20 pre-pregnancy) but I found that I could have gotten away with a 1x just fine because of the stretchiness of the fabric. This dress made me feel beautiful and all of my guests were surprised that this wasn't a maternity dress! Since then, I've gone ahead and ordered another dress in a 1x in black and I loved the dress even more. A pair of Spanx and I'm good to go! I've worn it to weddings, parties, and casual dinners; or whenever I wanted to, changing the accessories as needed. This dress is really versatile that way, it goes from casual to elegant in a snap. Each and every time I wear this dress, I ALWAYS get compliments! I HIGHLY recommend the purchase of this dress. It's well worth your money. It's a beautiful and well-made garment. It's classic and timeless design will last in your wardrobe for MANY years to come!

Reviewer: Stacey (Harrisburg, PA) 8/5/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Lovely!
I ordered this dress in black and I loved it so much, I now have it in purple and I am about to order the dress in blue. You can dress it up or down. The people at work and on the town LOVE it!

Reviewer: Kelly (Pomona, Qld) 8/4/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Lovely!!
I ordered this dress in a black 4X, I'm usually a 3X, but am pregnant and wanted a little room to move. I was a bit worried about how this dress would look because I have a large bust and have a tummy. When I tried this dress on I could not believe it. It fit beautifully and was not clinging to any lumps and bumps at all.....you would not even know I was pregnant. This dress is just lovely.

Reviewer: Tia (Copiague, NY) 7/18/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


I Love this Dress
I just received the Desert Rain Maxi Dress in the mail and oh boy! It fits and feels so wonderful. I ordered the 0x and I would have never thought I would look like this in a maxi dress. The quality of the fabric, the fit, and the cut are made just for curvy women. Awesome job Kiyonna! I look forward to a lot more purchases from you.

Reviewer: LiAnne (Pensacola, FL) 6/13/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Lovely
I purchased this product in black. I love the way it looks on me. It is probably my favorite of the maxi dresses I have purchased from Kiyonna because of the fit. It is a great dress. I'm glad to see the new blue color. I was a bit worried Kiyonna was going to discontinue the Desert Rain and Vienna Maxis. I may just have to purchase this dress in another color. My favorite feature of all of Kiyonna's maxi dresses is how comfortable they are. They look lovely and feel great. The worst feature for me is how they remind me of how short I am. They make me feel like I need to head to the nearest seamstress, so I'm not dragging my lovely dress all over the floor.

Reviewer: MaryBeth (Saint Paul, MN) 5/24/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


I wish I had a place to wear this EVERY day
I ordered this dress in the purple for my son's wedding. I had ordered (but not kept) it in black for my daughter's wedding last year, so I knew it would be okay, but okay is not the word. I looked fabulous (and that is just NOT who I am - ha). I've never gotten so many compliments, never felt so elegant. It is simply the funnest dress EVER and I really do wish I had someplace to wear it every day.

Reviewer: Sandra (Walkerston, Qld) 3/27/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


THANKYOU
Absolutely love this dress. Fantastic service, took only 7 days to receive in Australia. What more can I ask for? Will be shopping again. THANKS.

Reviewer: Mahalia (Memphis, TN) 3/13/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Love...Love...This dress
I purchased this dress just to see how the fit would be, I thought for sure that I would not like the fit...Boy was I wrong...I LOVE THIS DRESS. I purchased the black in a 2x and OMG it fits so well. The way it just flows when I walk. I have gotten so many compliments on the dress.

Reviewer: Jasmine Agnew (Homewood, AL) 3/1/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Cute Weekend Dress
I love this dress! I am 5'2 and it is the perfect length with my wedges!

Reviewer: Naomi Ortez (Redmond, WA) 1/6/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Love this dress
I love this dress. I only have it in black. But it's beautiful. Kiyonna fabric is so soft.

Reviewer: DreaCallo (Albuquerque, NM) 12/9/2011

Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Not so much
When I purchased this dress I was expecting the purple that is in the original picture. The color is actually a lot brighter and more Grape. The fit on the top where you see those shoulder lines are actually really low and unflattering; along with the fabric under the bust. I feel pregnant in this dress. Not the look I am looking for. The material is okay; thin, but comfortable.

Reviewer: Billie (Denver, CO) 12/5/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Dressed to Impress!
I am, 41 yrs old, 6ft and I wear a 5x. I have NEVER been able to find a dress for the company Xmas party. So I have pieced together my wardrobe over the years for special occasions. The dress fits great!. I could have gone with a 4x, but the arms may have been too tight. It was long enough and accented my "curves" well. As soon as I took my coat off, I heard from my company peers- 'WOW! you look great", "You look awesome" and my favorite "That dress is wearing you". My husband thanks you for designing a dress that others can see how sexy he thinks I am. I wish I lived in CA, I would of love to apply to be a model for Kiyonna.

Reviewer: April (Los Angeles, CA) 10/23/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Fabulous and comfortable!
What impresses me most about this dress is that it is cut to flatter. I found ths out firsthand when I came to the Kiyonna shopping event last month. On a whim, I tried this dress on because I liked it on the site. OMG, I looked good in it and I don't often say that about myself! I was impressed that the dress looked good on me even without a shaper on underneath. I bought the dress in purple, and tonight I wore it to a benefit concert (with a shaper, of course), accessorized with gold heels and clutch. I felt beautiful, in the dress, and comfortable too. Thanks Kiyonna for creating this knockout of a dress!

Reviewer: Raycal (Laurel, MD) 10/17/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Bought this dress for my 40th birthday party
I bought this dress to wear at my 40th birthday party and I loved it. I looked totally amazing in this dress. I got compliments all night. Can't wait to receive another order from Kiyonna. This is my favorite dress now.

Reviewer: Abby (Carmel, IN) 9/7/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Bridesmaid Beautiful
Exquisite? Fabulous? Phenomenal?? I'm not even sure those words adequately define this dress. I have DIVA-licious bridesmaids and let me tell you -- it's a fall wedding and I know some wanted sleeves -- and they ALL loved this dress (I ordered one for me too)!!!!! -- They said, "Oh!!! We can actually wear this again!!! To all kinds of events!!!!" They were elated and so was I! I'm getting married in November and it's an afternoon - fall infused wedding and these dresses are just versatile and magical!!!! The bridesmaids are wearing purple and my friend who's attending the guest book is wearing the teal! ROCK IT OUT LADIES!!! BUY IT. TRY IT. LOVE IT.

Reviewer: Annie (Chicago, IL) 7/21/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


OMG I am soooooo hot!
My dress just arrived. I slipped it on and I. AM. IN. LOVE. I've gained a bit of weight over the years and am very self-conscious about it. I have two events coming up, both semi formal and was fretting over what to get - nothing both feels AND looks good lately. This dress, however, makes me look and feel AMAZING! I ordered the 2x. I am 5'4, 40DDD, and an 16/18 - 18/20 and the fit it perfection. The fabric is a more casual cotton jersey, but the styling is exquisite. This will easily be dressed up for my two summer events by wearing some really fabulous jewelry. Likewise, you could probably dress it down a bit based on jewelry and shoe choice. Don't hesitate to order this dress - it is fabulous and you will look fabulous in it! My only regret is I didn't order this in the other 2 colors as well (I got black). I am so happy right now, I could scream! Thank you Kiyonna! This was my first purchase and it won't be my last!

Reviewer: Winsome (Miramar, Florida) 7/8/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Gorgeous dress even in the warmest weather!
I love the length of this dress. This is a true maxi dress.(I'm 5'9" and the length was a factor with my height) Perfect for an outdoor wedding in June in sunny Miami, FL! I have received so many beautiful compliments on this dress. It's a must have in every DIVA'S wardrobe! I have this dress in teal and i want it in Mystic purple.....hmmmmm. I must add that the customer service at Kiyonna is phenomenal!

Reviewer: Edna (San Diego, CA) 5/9/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


You decide: casual or evening!!!
I just love the fit of this dress...it fits well around my secret Spanx curves! It's the perfect length if you are 5'8" and wearing flat metallic sandals. Very elegant when you add a beautiful, sparkling necklace or long shimmery earrings. This is my third dress I've bought from Kiyonna. Definitely NOT my last!!! For casual wear, throw on a jean jacket and earrings!! :)

Reviewer: Trish (Perth, WA) 4/20/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Amazing all round
This was my first purchase from Kiyonna after looking for ages. It only took 9 days to be delivered to Australia which is amazing. The dress was packaged with care and arrived in tip top condition. Being only 5 foot tall, there will be some major alterations on the length, but this is standard with me! The dress fits perfectly. Previously, I was always unsure which size to order. In Australia, I am approximately a 16 - 18. I took the plunge and ordered a size 1 - it is a perfect fit. I cant wait to start looking for my next purchase from Kiyonna! Love IT!!

Reviewer: K. Williams (Atlanta, Ga) 4/10/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


I felt beautiful!
I love this dress! I wore it to my brother's wedding and can you say "Oooh la, la!" My husband loved it. It fit true to size and felt elegant and sexy. Thanks, Kiyonna!

Reviewer: Alicia (Fontana, CA) 3/30/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Got mine today!!!
Love this dress. It fits perfectly and is true to size (2x). I am usually disappointed with maxi dresses as they are never long enough for me (5'8"). I am so pleased. It is long enough for me to wear a high heeled strappy sandal and looks great dusting the floor with a cute flat sandal. I can't wait to wear this dress. Thank you!

Reviewer: karen faneco (varsity lakes, qld) 3/22/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


got to have it
Just love that style long and flowing figure flattering for anytime of day.

Back to Desert Rain Maxi Dress

Product Reviews


Kiyonna.com respects your privacy. We will never rent or sell your personal information. Privacy Policy

© 2014 Kiyonna Clothing Inc. Kiyonna is a registered trademark. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Site Development by Miva Merchant Professional Services

*MARKER* 0