Betsey Ruched Dress Product Reviews

Average Customer Review: 4.14 out of 5 (35 Reviews)

Click here to write an review and share your thoughts with others.

Reviewer: Melissa (Chesterfield, VA) 8/6/2013

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Such a SEXY Dress!
This dress is an absolute jewel! I purchased it in Intense Blue and when I put this dress on, I was instantly in love. It's so flattering to my figure and the ruching hides EVERYTHING.

Reviewer: Melissa (corona, NY) 6/13/2013

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Perfection!
I initially got a 2x because I read some of the reviews and I was worried about the size of the sleeves; however, I had to return it for a 1x, which was a PERFECT FIT. It has been a LONG TIME since I felt comfortable dressing up and this dress fit every curve beautifully. I felt amazing and it was worth every penny!

Reviewer: Larisa Morozkina (Nizhniy Novgorod, Nizhniy Novgorod) 1/23/2013

Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Good Idea, but Bad Execution
Absolutely not in compliance to a dimensional grid. I wear a 47-40-51 (1ű). I have 3 kiyonna dresses, one from an old collection in a size 0x. My other Kiyonna dress is the "Sweetheart Knit Wrap Dress" in a size 1x. Both dresses fit well. However, this dress was very small and I felt that the fabric could have been better. Good idea, but bad execution.

Reviewer: Alma T (Oakland, Ca) 12/31/2012

Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Low Quality, Great Fit.
I am disappointed with the quality of the fabric. It's like the Halloween costume fabric, but the dress did fit great and felt comfortable. To me, this dress should not cost more than $40 just because of the fabric.

Reviewer: Amanda (Boston, MA) 12/6/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Stunning
I ordered this dress in the teal color 1X and it fits wonderfully. I never dreamed I could wear a dress like this and feel good about how I look. I feel sexy and gorgeous in this dress.

Reviewer: Nikki (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) 12/5/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


AWESOME AND HUGS CURVES PERFECTLY
I wore the Betsey Ruched Dress recently for my boyfriend's dinner party. The ENTIRE evening I received compliments on the dress. It hugs your curves just right and hides the "extra belly" area nicely. Don't think twice, just buy it! I'm 5'5, size 2x and it fit me beautifully.

Reviewer: Lucero Benavides (Houston, TX) 11/12/2012

Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5


Great Fit, Cheap Material
Great fit, but material was HORRIBLE. As cheap as a Halloween costume! Kiyonna needs to step it up, especially for that price.

Reviewer: Tia (Memphis, TN) 11/6/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Bombshell Dress!
I have a work gala in two weeks and have been stressing out about what to wear. The Betsey Ruched Dress in black is one of five dresses I've purchased from various stores for the event. The Betsey Ruched Dress is the absolute winner! I always wear a 14/16 in Kiyonna, but I ordered a larger size based on the reviews. The fit is perfect and the dress is incredibly flattering! My midsection is my "problem area" and the dress does a great job of camouflaging this area, although I do need Spanx with it. It's true that the dress is mesh and not a luxurious fabric, but the fit outweighs the fabric in my mind. I'll be accessorizing the dress with a cashmere wrap, a chunky grey pearl necklace, and some killer heels. My husband couldn't keep his hands off me when I tried on the dress for him. Thanks Kiyonna, for helping a curvy girl feel like a total vixen!

Reviewer: Kristina (Hackensack, New Jersey) 9/5/2012

Rating: 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5


Not worth the money
I was really excited to get this dress, but ended up being so disappointed when it arrived. The style was good, hid things well, BUT the material felt like the stuff they make Halloween costumes out of...cheap and not well made. If I had paid $30-$40 for it I MAY have kept it since you get what you pay for, but for over $100, no way. Back it goes....

Reviewer: Beverly (Liverpool, NS) 8/2/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Ooh la la!
I am absolutely IN LOVE with the Betsey Ruched Dress in the magenta floral pattern! Wow, it's truly a stunner. Due to the 'mesh' material, it does fit a little smaller than expected, so you may want to size up. (Normally I would take a size 1, but it is quite snug). However, I decided to keep the size 1 as I am currently losing weight. Regardless of the smaller fit, it still skims my curves nicely and isn't too revealing thanks to the ruching. I love the fact that the neckline can be adjusted to not show too much cleavage which was my initial concern. The way it's designed, a discreetly placed pin works perfectly. The only thing I would change is the length; it would have been nice if it were bit longer. At almost 5'9", the dress hits slightly above my knee. I prefer dresses that hit at the knee or slightly below (they look more slimming). Overall, however, a beautifully designed dress. I've ordered a few more in other colours!

Reviewer: WANDA (PALM SPRINGS, FL) 6/29/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


LOVE IT
I got the polka-dot dress and it looked stunning. My friends love the way I looked; I looked sexy, but not trashy. Perfect fit; the sleeves are a little bit snug for thick arms, but the fabric stretches a bit.

Reviewer: Joanne (Chicago, IL) 6/7/2012

Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Meh
I was not pleased with the quality of this dress. It felt very poor on. It fit decently (perhaps a tiny bit small), and just looked cheap. Sending back. :(

Reviewer: Jenny T (Torrance, California) 4/16/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Thank you Kiyonna!
I cannot say enough about this dress. I NEVER buy clothing online for the simple fact that I am never happy with what arrives at my door. Definitely not the case here. Let me start by saying that all I wanted for my 30th Bday was to find a dress that came to the knee, had a sleeve, and showed some cleavage! I eyed this dress for quite some time and noticed that everyone in the pictures on Kiyonna's facebook page looked great..EVERYONE! So, I gave it a try. I bought the dress in black and will be wearing it to my 30th birthday party this weekend. I feel so sexy and slim with a good pair of spanx underneath...Thank you for making such a flattering dress that hugs the curves and looks gorgeous!

Reviewer: 2SweetinTexas (Dallas, TX) 3/25/2012

Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Not for me...
I am 5'4" with a just slightly smaller top than bottom. I normally wear an 18W in most stores...16W in Lane Bryant. I ordered a 2X and the dress was way too snug and did not fit well. At full price it is also not quite the quality I expected. I will be returning.

Reviewer: Nancy (Brooklyn, NY) 3/25/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


I loved it
I wore this dress to my daughter's engagement party and I got so many compliments. The dress fits perfectly and comfortable. I impressed myself... :)

Reviewer: Leah (New York, NY) 3/22/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Best. Purchase. Ever
I bought this dress in the snow leopard and the polka dot, and LOVE them. They perfectly hug and caress my curves and the ruching hides the problem areas. I ordered one in a 2x and one in a 3x because I was borderline on the sizes. They both look good, but I am a little more comfortable in the 3x, so I'd say if you're borderline, go up. I wore this dress for my birthday. My boyfriend couldn't stop complimenting me and the photos I put up on facebook have been getting rave reviews all week. Great purchase!

Reviewer: Ashley E. (Little Elm, TX) 2/14/2012

Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5


Dress looks amazing!
First off, let me say I am a size 16 in Lane Bryant, about 5'1" and a very top heavy 40F. I have the hardest time finding dresses that fit me well and I was prepared to be disappointed. Well, I have this dress in the size 1 in red (snug in the bust but AMAZING everywhere else) and in a size 2 in the brown leopard, black polka dot, black, and teal, and it fits like a dream!! I have never felt more confident in a dress in my life and I am planning on buying the snow leopard and the eggplant too. If you're chesty, size up because your goodies will fall out of the top of the dress. If, however, you're an average size on top I'd say order your regular size and it ought to fit just fine. I am surprised at the negative reviews on this dress because it seems like the "cheap fabric" comments are silly. The description of the material says mesh, I'm not sure how heavyweight people thought it was going to be. All I know is I was impressed and my boyfriend keeps giving me money to buy this dress in other colors ;-)

Reviewer: Renee (Raleigh, NC) 2/12/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Loved It!
This was my first purchase from this company. I am a full figured top heavy woman who finds it very difficult to find clothes that fit in all the right places. Most items that I buy bigger in the top tend to give the maternity look towards the bottom. I bought this dress in red for a dance and I absolutely loved it! I received so many compliments and felt beautiful and sexy! I normally wear a 14/16 and the 1x fit wonderful. I will definitely be purchasing more items!

Reviewer: Jennifer (Toronto, ) 2/7/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


BAM!
I am a short (5'2) hourglass shaped woman and I absolutely LOVE my Betsy Rouge dress. I bought the black number, just in time for my birthday and when I tried it on with a pair of smoking hot red pumps, my husbands eyes almost popped out of his head. I can't wait to wear it on my birthday to show that becoming one year older doesn't have to be so bad ;)

Reviewer: S.Dean (Stone Mountain, Ga) 2/4/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Excellent!
I just received my dress today by mail. I must say that I am very much pleased with the color (red), the fit and the texture of the fabric. I will definitely order again from Kiyonna.

Reviewer: Reshida (Washington, DC) 1/31/2012

Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5


Didn't Work Out...
As a 6 foot tall woman I have a hard time finding dresses that are long enough/falls below the knee, and that was the case with this dress; the hem was so short that I didnít feel comfortable wearing it. This was also my first dress purchase from Kiyonna, and being an 18/20 size, I ordered a 2X. The dress was EXTREMELY tight. I could see myself bursting seams in no time. I found the sheer material on the arms to be very tight as well. Perhaps a size-up would have solved the problem; however I didn't waste time re-ordering because the dress was so short on me. One last thing I'd like to mention is the fabric/quality of the dress. Although my boyfriend thought I looked stunning (and disappointed that I decided to return it), the dressí quality didnít meet my satisfaction at all. In fact, I was taken aback by this from the onset. Sorry to say, the dressí material felt like something Iíd get from a Rainbow store.

Reviewer: Rita Collen (Racine, WI) 1/20/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


My WOW Dress!!
Everything other positive comment other reviewers have made about this dress is true! This dress has an incredible WOW factor that will surely turn heads and generate compliments. The fit is true to my usual standard (not "plus" or a size with a "W") dress size. In standard-size dresses I am an 18 and the 2X fit like a dream. The ruching does a great job of dressing my rather thick waist while highlighting the curves of my hips and backside. The neckline's flattering "V" is gorgeous, showing off my curvy bust to great advantage but without revealing too much. Seriously, I feel smokin' hot in this dress, even without foundation pieces like spanx or an all-in-one bra. The mesh fabric provides an opportunity for this dress to work for most dress-worthy occasions so I'm confident my investment in this dress will provide returns many times over. It doesn't wrinkle so it is a smart choice for travel. It looks great for date night with my husband, weddings, and will be the perfect dress for a formal evening on an upcoming cruise. I purchased it in black for the ultimate LBD but I know I'll need it in red and/or teal for summer parties and weddings.

Reviewer: Toni Ann from NY (Staten Island, NY) 1/16/2012

Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5


Loved it!
I wore this to my husbands firehouse dinner/dance, I got loads of compliments. It fit me beautifully. The hem was a little annoying at times, due to the ruching, but nothing that couldn't be fixed. I loved this dress and so did everyone else.

Reviewer: Lacey Nichols (San Francisco, California) 1/9/2012

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


I love this dress, and this dress loves me...
This is the best sexy fitting dress while not being too "fitting" if you know what I mean ;) It skims the right curves and the ruching hides the not so right curves. I got it a while back in the Teal and now I"m dying for the Black and White Polka Dot print! This has to be the most flattering dress I've ever purchased in my entire life. I will get it in ever color *eventually.

Reviewer: Merry McVey-Noble (Bethpage, NY) 12/10/2011

Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Not the quality I'm used to
I have ordered several dresses from Kiyonna and am usually so pleased by the quality of the fabrics & the wonderful fit. While it seems to have gotten rave reviews, this dress fell far short of my expectations. The fit was good (as usual, though the hem hung strangely b/c of the ruching), but I found the quality of the fabric to be very poor. I expected it to be lightweight, but it looked very cheap & felt very flimsy. I don't understand all of the glowing reviews. I am so disappointed.

Reviewer: Nicole Smith (jacksonville, nc) 12/9/2011

Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5


Mad...
Okay this dress is expensive. it's not uber good quality material but it does fit fantastically! However, I ordered this in teal. As you can see from the picture it looks light and fun and i thought it would look really good with my tan skin. Just received it and it's a dark blue. It's not a pretty dark blue either. I'm sooo disappointed. I should have ordered the red....

Reviewer: D.N. (Alexandria, Virginia) 12/4/2011

Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Disappointed!
I bought this dress with the hopes of wearing it to a formal holiday event. I loved the color, eggplant, but the fit was terrible. I'm top heavy so I always have to buy a dress according to how it fits in the chest. It was too small and the material looks cheap. Definitely not befitting a formal event. This is the kind of material a person would wear to an after work informal party. This is NOT a formal dress.

Reviewer: Linda Eaves (Pacific, WA) 11/18/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Betsey fits like a glove.
My first purchase along with the Pin Up Boudoir Lace Dress. I got both items in a 1x. This dress hugs me and flatters my contours. The ruching is perfect for accentuating my shape and I can adjust the whole look of the dress because of the stretchy fabric. Betsey is sophisticated and smoking hot. Bombshell baby. I'm curious about how Betsey would look in a 2x in the cherry red. I love the perfect fit in the 1x on the top on me. Will get this flattering dress in other colors for sure. Try it ladies!

Reviewer: Ann N (, IN) 10/22/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Amazing Dress
This dress is flattering. When it first arrived, I though the box was too light. When I opened the box I thought no way is this thing going to fit or be flattering in any way. When I put it on.....I fell in love. This dress fits great, true to size. My bottom half is bigger than my top and was not a problem, I ordered to fit the bottom. I tried it on with no Spanx and loved it. The teal is a bit darker than I thought. Still a great color.

Reviewer: Dee Dee (Raleigh, NC) 10/7/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Fantastick!
WOW! I just got my dress today and I am so IMPRESSED. Even without any spanxx the dress does wonder for my body, and the sleeves easily fit over my arms. Looking at the dress on the hanger I thought for sure that I could not fit it, but the stretchy material does wonders! I AM SO PLEASED!

Reviewer: kelly (fort wayne, IN) 10/6/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Go on get it!
I am a first time buyer from Kiyonna. I have always been afraid of buying online due to uncertain fit, but this dress rocks! From the excellent service, to the thoughtful packaging, to the beautiful dress that fits like a glove, I am a Kiyonna girl now!

Reviewer: Jessica (Brisbane, ) 9/30/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Genius Design!!!
I just received a Betsey in the Teal and I am very impressed with the design and overall wow factor of this dress! The fabric is beautiful too -- top quailty. The folds of the fabric are very slimming - don't be intimidated by the model -- it actually fits true to what is shown!. I am hourglass 2x and found it ran true to size. It actually has a slight retro style to it the way it fits snug but is very flattering. I would recommend this dress x100 and am now very tempted to go back and purchase another colour. . Thanks Kiyonna! Can't wait to wear this out.

Reviewer: Gina D. (Columbia, SC) 9/2/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


gorgeous dress -- for hourglass figures.
If you are top-heavy or an hourglass figure, this is an outstanding dress. it highlights the bustline and does amazing things for hips and booty. Sadly, if you're thick/round in the middle, as I am, it's not nearly as flattering. The materials are top-notch; you could wear this in all but the most extreme temperatures. The colors are really well suited to making this a dress suitable for most occasions, too.

Reviewer: Katrina Dornestan (Houston, TX) 8/23/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Every Head Turned, Every Jaw Dropped
I wish I could give this dress 10 stars. It is so incredibly flattering and simply beautiful. I wore this to a graduation party and afterparty and literally every head turned as I passed and every jaw dropped when I said hello. I am an hourglass and the fit was perfect. I have the navy polka dot dress and wore it with red peep toe heels. I was a little concerned at first about the sleeves, but the coverage allowed me the freedom of not being self conscious about my arms. They weren't warm at all; trust me, we've had triple digit temps in Texas. If you want a dress that accentuates your curves and is comfortable and sexy all at the same time, THIS IS IT!

Reviewer: Audrey (Sydney, ) 8/4/2011

Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


It's gorgeous!
I bought the size 1 in the navy and itís a total stunner. I particularly love the longer sleeves and the neckline detail that will allow me to show more or less cleavage depending on my mood. The ruching is hot stuff but I will definitely have to have a look around for a nice pair of high-waisted undies so I get a smoother line at the front. For the record I'm a large busted very small waisted large hipped hourglass and I'd totally recommend this for my shape.

Back to Betsey Ruched Dress

Product Reviews


Kiyonna.com respects your privacy. We will never rent or sell your personal information. Privacy Policy

© 2014 Kiyonna Clothing Inc. Kiyonna is a registered trademark. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Site Design and Development by Miva Merchant Professional Services